Trying To Advance My Skills

Over the year I have slowly been learning how I can make my work better. At the start of this year my skills were not anywhere near the level that they should have been; I didn’t realise this until the half term of the first semester of this year, when it was pointed out to me that my workflow was very wrong. From there I have been taking on board advice from everyone and anyone I can, bettering myself in the hopes that one day I can make beautiful works of art as easily as I breathe, walk and talk.

If I were to show some of the work that I made at the end of last year (which incidentally is slightly better than what I was making at the start of this year), there is a very distinguishable difference in quality. So to prove my point, below is a building I modelled and textured towards the end of my first year:

It was unwrapped entirely by using the flatten map tool and had around 12 subdivisions (possibly more, I can’t quite remember), and all of the textures were very crudely thrown over a UV map in Photoshop. And from the images you can clearly see that it’s just awful, I actually feel kinda ill looking at it again…

Now on to how I’ve developed my skills to where I am now. One of the models I’m going to show has been produced all throughout the year and shows different stages of my progression. I’ll show that model first:

HighresScreenshot00001

Now this model is still very far from being perfect, and there are things that I would do better. But this model shows perfectly how far my skills have come; there is more attention to detail, not only in modelling but to texturing as well. There is an obvious difference in the quality of my production. In fact, at one point I started this model again because I messed it up.

Now below are some more objects I created, one is a car (based on the Bentley 4) and the other is a motorcycle (based on the Harley Davidson model 74). Had I tried to make these at the start of the year (when I originally planned to) they wouldn’t be anywhere near as good as what they are now; again they’re not perfect, I know there are issues with them, and there is still a lot of improvement to be made.

HighresScreenshot00023

HighresScreenshot00026

ScreenShot00020

Over the summer period I fully intend on improving my skills further in preparation for my Final Major Project.

Leave a comment