Populating the scene – Conspiracy Theorist’s Apartment / Why is Joseph Gordon-Levitt in my van?!

As part of a uni project, I was tasked with designing a scene from a selection of choices. From the choices, I decided to design an apartment that a conspiracy theorist/mad scientist might live in.

I started out by listing everything that might be found in the aforementioned apartment, making quick sketches of different angles of the apartment:

scan0004

I then drafted out a quick concept image, laying out different parts of the apartment:

Conspiracy Theorists Apartment

From there I had the idea to design the apartment around the concept of mobility; as a conspiracy theorist may be extremely paranoid and may not want to be found easily. So I thought a van that was shoddily modified to be habitable would have been a more interesting concept.

So I started looking up old worn out vans and started to think how someone might live in the back of one.

scan0003

From the research I went straight into google sketchup and did a quick mock-up of the van I wanted to make:

Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van inside corner Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van inside front Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van open Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van back Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van emerging Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van front Conspiracy Theorists Apartment - Van inside back

After loosely modelling the van using google sketchup, and its 3D warehouse, I moved the van to photoshop to add the final touches that will make my scene look populated:

Van and alleyway

I decided at this point to add someone who was living inside the van, so I looked up some images of people curled up in a corner and found the perfect image of the actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt; so I added him to my scene:

Van and alleyway with Joseph Gordon Levitt

While in photoshop I started playing around with some filters and effects to make the image a bit more interesting, these were the results; I personally like the black & white version:

Van and alleyway with Joseph Gordon Levitt 2 Van and alleyway with Joseph Gordon Levitt 3

Leave a comment